Elie grew up around the natural safe haven of the bay and became a burgh of barony in 1589. In 1885 the harbour was improved and a road was built on top of the causeway. The Fife Coastal Path has two choices of routes from the cliffs at Earlesferry. The more adventurous may elect to walk the "Chain Walk" around the base of the cliffs, while the "official" route is over the top of the cliffs which afford stunning views of the sourrounding area. The bay at Elie is used for a variety of recreational pursuits including wind surfing, kayaking, dingy sailing and in the summer when the tide is out it the sandy bay is sometimes used as a cricket pitch!
Walk down towards the harbour - the building at the end of the harbour was a granary but has now been converted into self catering flats. They won a prestigious architectural award for their interior design.The path now goes off to the left near the Ship Inn into the area known as Ruby Bay. This was so named because of the large garnet that was once found there. Here there is another lovely beach with ample car parking behind. Leave the beach and follow the path across the grass towards the point. Ahead is the Lady's Tower that rests above the rocks at Elie Ness. It was designed and built for Lady Janet Anstruther who resided in the village.
Buy the guide to the Fife Coastal Path here